h1

Arctic Doom!

December 20, 2008

It’s been snowing for 11 hours now. Most of the snow from the last storm had melted by late yesterday, but now there’s at least 5 inches on the ground outside my apartment. The temperature has been struggling to get above freezing for a week now, and it looks like we’ve got at least another week to go. Right now it’s maybe 16 or 17 degrees outside.

I was going to get together with Dad’s side of the family for Christmas, but he’s snowed in at his girlfriend’s place. A quick look at the radar maps confirms that he is indeed getting the shit kicked out of him.

I was amused by how much the local news was freaking out about the weather before, but another week of this and I might start getting concerned. As long as my electricity holds out, I’ll be fine. But if it fails I’m going to need to find someplace else to sleep for the duration of the storm.

Leave a Reply

