h1

Job Huntin’ Sucks

July 7, 2008

The job hunt has not been going well. A few days ago, I got turned down by a fucking temp agency. I’ve applied to 3 others, but I haven’t heard back from any of them. So you can imagine that when I got an interview with an environmental advocacy nonprofit agency called Environment Oregon, I was excited. I’d only gotten one interview prior to this, for a part time position at Barnes & Noble, and they turned me down. I went in to Environment Oregon’s Portland office today and I nailed the interview. They said it would take them 3 days to a week to get back to me about if they wanted to hire me. It only took 5 hours. The office director said it was the fastest turn around from the home office he’d ever seen. They offered me the job. Sweet.

But it’s 80 hours a week. I wouldn’t even have time to do laundry during the week. I’d probably be giving up all my Saturdays. I’d certainly be working 16 hour days very frequently. I have until Friday to make my decision.

The first thing I did when I got home from the interview, before I knew they were going to offer me the job, was to go on Craigslist and look for more jobs. I found one that looks interesting, sent a quiery with my resume attached, and they asked me to come in and speak to them and fill out an application tomorrow. I think if they offer me a job, I’ll take it.

I believe in environmental causes, I really do. And if Environment Oregon wanted me to work a 40 hour week, I’d jump at the chance. But 80? That’s not a job, that’s a religious commitment.
I hate job hunting.

Leave a Reply

