h1

Selling My Soul for Team Fortress 2

September 20, 2007

So yes, I broke down and joined the TF 2 public beta. In my defense, it seems that doing so actually made more financial sense for me, even if it was a total fucking money grab on VALVe’s part to kill the Black Box (a decision whose importance I did not fully comprehend until I saw that it would be vastly more expensive to buy each component game separately instead of as part of the Orange Box.)

Still, I think this complete and total abandonment of my principles was worth it. It is now very clear why Team Fortress 2 took 9 years to develop- it’s the best multiplayer game of the year. Everything ties into everything else. It’s got a level of balance and polish I’ve rarely ever seen before. The graphics, even on my beat up old system are smooth and clean. Games are fast and tense. It’s got everything you could ever want from a TF game.

If you’ve been waiting for this game, be happy. It doesn’t get much better than this.

One comment

  1. […] = Vast Fields of Opportunity September 27th, 2007 The developer commentary included with Team Fortress 2 has one interesting segment on a conundrum they faced while designing the Spy class. They wanted […]



Leave a Reply

