h1

How College Killed my Creativity

September 13, 2007

Someday I want to be a professional writer. Currently, I am trying to write a book.

It is not going well.

Before I began attending UC Santa Cruz, I could write for hours and hours with no problem at all. Now It is quite difficult. I lay the blame squarely at the feet of Lit 101, a required writing intensive course for all Literature majors. In Lit 101 I was force to read lots of words written in a boring style about topics that I was already burned out on caring about. Then I was forced to write boring essays using a style I didn’t like about these readings. Whenever I tried to have fun with the essays, my grade took a hit. The result is that I got constipated. I’ve worked up to the point where I can do nonfiction again, but I want to be a fiction writer, and that remains absurdly difficult.

The main problem is that I just don’t get the urge to write anymore. Without that, it just feels like a chore. Pretty much all I’ve done this summer was read and read and read and hope that doing that would spark something in me again. But I’m afraid that maybe I’ve lost it forever. What if it doesn’t come back?

EDIT: I decided to write a whole lot more about this here, if anyone cares to see it.

2 comments

  1. Ah, you have problem with writing… i mean, the urge to write is gone. I believe every writer experiences that.

    That’s why I started a Pact, and we have been writing.

    Oops, i talk to much. I am just a passerby… And erm, interesting post.


  2. […] Two « How College Killed my Creativity How Collage Killed My Creativity pt. 2 September 14th, 2007 I got a lot more hits than I […]



Leave a Reply

