h1

BioWare, I Want to Have Your Babies!

September 11, 2007

In case anyone stopping by this blog is interested in reading a fascinating article on how BioWare writes its RPGs, head on over to It’s About… and read up. Very cool stuff for those of a certain bent.

I’ve wanted to work for BioWare for a long time, and at one point I was on the verge of applying to one of those fancy-dancy new video game collages that are springing up all over the place, but in the end decided against it. The games industry is insanely competitive, and it seemed like a wiser choice to develop broader skills as a writer that I could apply to a variety of career paths rather than get a super-specific degree in game art and design. I came to this conclusion after reading several profiles of rookie game developers and noticing that none of them had a specialized game design degree and that all of them came into game development from other fields. BioWare’s employment opportunity page supports this notion, as they look for previously proven writers in other fields to do the kind of work detailed in the article I liked to above, so I’m still fairly optimistic about working with them someday.

One comment

  1. Thanks for the article! I’m actually in the same boat as you. I’ve been wanting to work for Bioware for a few years now, and have actually applied a few years ago, but with no response. And am I ever glad they didn’t respond, I don’t think I have enough experience writing to be a part of something like that yet. I’m back to school in January, and taking my B.A. with a major in creative writing, so hopefully that’ll get me to where I need to be. Good luck to you, and maybe we’ll cross paths some day.



Leave a Reply

